Small Changes that Feel Large

After 40ish years of shaving my face with disposable/cartridge razors I had my first shave with a safety razor today. Over the years, lots of advertising has come my way about how I need 3 or 4 or 5 blades to even hope to have a clean shave, and I believed it. I can’t say the shave is closer and life changing compared to the other way (I also understand that it will take a few tries before I’m as proficient with this way). But it’s definitely about the same. I feel cheated and lied to by the shaver cabal. Safety blades are like $0.10 each while cartridges are $2.50 each. The handle I purchased was a little more expensive than a modern one, but I know that I could have picked up one in the $10 or less range.

I wonder what else advertising has convinced me to waste money on? I don’t know that it’s the money part (being that I live in a first world country and probalby waste money on lots of things) as much as the being lied to part that is just really irritating me today.