USAC Series Race Bologna TT

The USAC Cycling Race Series added (two time trials)[https://usacycling.org/virtual-race-league-zwift] in August on the 12th and 26th. Today’s course is a recreation of the (Giro d’Italia 2019 Stage 1 TT)[https://www.cyclingstage.com/giro-2019/stage-1-start-times-italy-2019/]. The course is 8km and 240m of climbing. The kicker, though is that about 200m of the climb is the last 2km of the course. With recent workouts and rest days, I have gotten up to 2.6W/kg which puts me at the bottom of the C division (but not the very bottom). There were 20 riders in the C division (this was for the 2pm race, the 6:30am and 5pm races both had many more riders). It was about 94F on the porch as I started my warmup. Hopefully the ceiling fan and the wind from the approaching thunderstorms would offer some relief.

As the course began, we were mostly on flat roads through the city. I found myself in a small pack of about five riders. We all traded the lead in our group. The “drafting” mode of the simulation was turned off, but it was mentally helpful to have this group to stay with. As I moved back and forward in our group, the leader was tenth place and the trailer was fifteenth. The visuals of the town were interesting as well. We had knots of fans along the way cheering and multiple side streets packed with Vespas. Someday, maybe I’ll visit Italy and see for myself.

As we crossed the river and began the climb to San Luca our little group splintered. I vowed, yet again, to put the triple back on my bike as I couldn’t find a low enough gear during the initial 13.6% section (let alone the 16% section near the finish). The heat and the grade conspired to remind me that my maximum heart rate is still 175bpm. I slid as in slow motion off of the back of the little group as we climed up along the (famous ‘porticato’)[https://bolognauncovered.com/2019/01/18/walking-in-bologna-the-portico-and-the-sanctuary-of-san-luca/]. It was one of those climbs where when it’s only a 7% grade your legs rejoice.

A nice feature of this virtual riding is that you can see the times of other riders as you go. It’s comforting as you grind along to see that the lead rider in your group has finished and is only 4 minutes ahead of you. There is now a price on your pain and an end in sight to this madness. My cadence was slowly declining, to near 50rpm. Push, push, count the pedalstrokes to take your mind off of things. Stand, count more strokes. Question your life choices and why you’re on your porch instead of in the cool of the AC. About this time Mattie (my dog) came to the door and looked out at me, as if to say “what are you doing?”. I had to laugh a little.

Crossing under the ‘porticato’ the last time is just a few hundred meters from the finish. It is also relatively flat. I forced myself to put the bike in the big gear and spin to the finish line. Final time was 24:17 which put me in 11th place for the division and with an average of 2.7w/kg (which I didn’t think I was capable of).

After the finish, the route looped around. So, I happily rode back down the course. This virtual biking thing has its advantages as I was carving hairpin turns at 90kph on the downhill. A good way to spin out the legs and make it back to the starting line. Then off the bike and back into the air conditioning for a well needed shower.